Dream Warrior

'God is Back'

View previous topic View next topic Go down

'God is Back'

Post  Manahuna on 03.09.10 14:40

'God is Back': Religion and society will never mix well

Charles Moore reviews 'God is Back' by John Micklethwait and Adrian Wooldridge.

When I was a student in the late 1970s, I did not follow public events closely. I have a strong memory of only two things, within a couple of months of each other. One was a cover of the Economist with the stern, powerful face and black turban of the Ayatollah Khomeini on it. He was just about to return from exile to rule Iran. The other memory is of lying in the bath, and hearing on the radio that a Pole had become Pope.

These events impressed themselves upon me because they confirmed in my mind something which I believed, but which the modern western culture enveloping me sought to deny or evade – the overwhelming importance of religion in the life, not only of individuals, but of all human society. I sensed that this truth was – for good and ill – re-emerging.

This fascinating book makes no such denial or evasion. It tries to explain to that western culture why "God is back". One of the authors, Adrian Wooldridge, is an atheist. The other, John Micklethwait, is a Roman Catholic. Both work for the Economist, and Micklethwait is its editor. The fact that two high priests in that temple of the secular establishment should write a whole book on such a subject shows how our public culture has changed, for the better.

The authors do not intend to reflect their own (conflicting) religious opinions. As they say themselves, their message is "a profoundly liberal one". They seek to show that religion is compatible with a free society. They argue that the more technology, democracy, choice and freedom a society has, the more religion will be strengthened. Religion is most active in men's hearts, they believe, when it competes for them.